Declaration of Intent now available for trustee seats up for election May 2, 2017 

The Declaration of Intent and Oath of Candidacy form is now available for three seats that will be up for election on the Missoula County Public Schools Board of Trustees on Tuesday, May 2, 2017.  Forms may be obtained from Pat McHugh, director of business services, at the District’s Business Building, 915 South Avenue West, in Missoula. Forms may also be obtained from the Montana Office of Public Instruction website.   

Forms must be filed with the Missoula County Elections Office in the Missoula County Courthouse, 200 West Broadway, by 5 p.m. on Thursday, March 23.  The forms may also be returned to the District for filing, but must be received in the District’s Business Building no later than 4 p.m. on March 22.

The following seats are up for election: 


  • Two seats that represent the Elementary (K-8) District on the Board.  These K-12 seats are three-year terms. Anyone interested in these positions must be qualified to vote, and live within the MCPS Elementary District boundary. These positions are currently held by Heidi Kendall and Jennifer Newbold.

  • One Seat that represents the Clinton, Potomac, Sunset, Seeley-Swan, and Swan Valley Districts on the Secondary (high school) Board.  This seat will be a three-year term.  Candidates must be qualified to vote, and reside in Election District "D", which includes the attendance areas for Clinton, Potomac, Sunset, Seeley-Swan and Swan Valley schools.  This seat is currently held by Debbie Dupree.

MCPS trustees are volunteer, non-paid positions. Trustees are requested to attend 2-3 monthly meetings (on average) that focus on curricula, policy, budget, administrative issues and other topics. In addition, the trustee schedule includes special meetings, board work sessions, budget study sessions, building visits, graduation ceremonies and special events. Meetings are held during the day and evening.

There are 11 trustees on the school board. Seven seats represent both Elementary and Secondary Districts; four seats represent outlying communities and vote only on Secondary District issues.

For forms or additional information about any of these available positions, please contact Lenora Jacobs at 728-2400, ext. 3021.